Motorcycle laws are designed to reduce motorcycle accidents and injuries – protecting both motorcycle riders and others on the roads. Here is a list of important Texas motorcycle laws and regulations:
- Motorcycle riders under the age of 21 are required to wear helmets. Those who have not had rider training or do not have at least $10,000 of motorcycle insurance coverage are also required to wear helmets. Off-road bike riders are also required to wear helmets.
- Handlebar height for motorcycle in Texas is limited to 15 inches.
- There are no regulations related to motorcycle mufflers or maximum sound levels.
- If carrying a passenger, a motorcycle passenger seat is required by law. As of 2015, passenger footrests and hand holds are required. Passengers must be at least 5 years old (unless riding in a sidecar).
- There are no laws against having or using a radar detector.
- There are no laws against having helmet speakers.
- Working turn signals are required in Texas unless you are riding a motorcycle manufactured before 1960. You must also use your headlights, even when riding during the day, unless your motorcycle was manufactured before 1975.
- One rear-view mirror, located on either the right or left side of your bike, is required by Texas law.
- Texas motorcycle laws do not mention lane sharing or lane splitting.
- All motorcycle owners are required by the state to pass regular safety inspections.
- Off-road bike riders are required to wear helmets and eye protection.
- Off-road riders under the age of 14 are required to have adult supervision.
- Off-road bikers must complete a rider certification test.
- Although off-road bikes must have a working muffler, there are no maximum sound limits for the bikes.
At Rasansky Law firm we are highly qualified to deal with these situations. Call 1-877-405-4313 to speak with a Dallas motorcycle accident lawyer who can help you.