600 new Texas laws go on the books in 2014. Be prepared!
Texas has enacted 600 new laws with the commencement of the New Year (2014). All but 47 were set in place in late 2013, but now they are all on the books. These new laws are set to change a couple of things in the Lone Star state, known for tax free alcohol and controversial apartment laws.
You may also wish to view a rundown of the 1,200+ new laws which go into effect in 2017.
As of January 1st, mixed drinks now attract taxation similar to the type that’s put on wine and beer. This new law will charge an 8.25 percent figure on mixed alcoholic drinks. Most restaurateurs say that this won’t force them to increase mixed drinks princes since it would mean losing out to the competition. At the same time, most individuals are of the opinion that the tax had always been part of the price of the drink meaning that it won’t drastically change things for both the restaurateurs and drinkers.
Another law put in place to protect tenants living in apartment complexes states that landlords are required to give notice to tenants before discontinuing the supply of utilities such as electricity, water and cable. This effectively makes tenant’s lives easier and gives them a chance to seek out alternative service providers within a reasonable amount of time. Lastly, this law will motivate landlords to pay their bills in time for the benefit of all parties concerned.
If you’re under the age of 18, you will no longer be allowed to visit a tanning salon. This important law seeks to protect young individuals from increasing cases of melanoma. Tanning beds are said to increase the risk of skin cancer for young people by up to 85 percent.
If you’re out of a job and would like to apply for unemployment, get ready to take a drug test before qualifying for government assistance. This especially applies to people who work in professions where drug tests are mandatory and routine. This will help enforce the concept of personal responsibility as well as keep the general population healthy and safe. This law has exceptions specified in the statute such as exception for participation in a drug treatment program.
If you’d like to carry a concealed gun, you no longer have to present your social security number before purchasing one. You also won’t be required to train for 10 to 15 hours before getting your license; this figure has been dropped down to 4 to 6 hours.
For more on these laws, and the 600 new laws in Texas for 2014, visit the Legislative Reference Library of Texas website.