(214) 651-6100
1-877-405-4313 (toll-free) Dallas Personal Injury Lawyers
Send us an email! Call us!
by Jeff Rasansky -
Jeff Rasansky
Jeff Rasansky, managing partner of Rasansky Law Firm, is an aggressive Dallas personal injury lawyer with more than 25 years of legal experience.

Answer:

There are different laws and regulations for motorized scooters (such as mopeds and Vespas) and motorcycles in Texas. Let’s look at some of the basics:

  • You must either have a motorcycle endorsement on your driver’s license or a separate scooter license in order to drive a scooter legally in Texas.
  • You must be at least 15 years old and pass a written test in order to get a scooter license in Texas (vehicles with a 50cc engine).
  • All motorized scooters of all sizes must be registered in Texas and pass an annual inspection.
  • Helmets are required for all riders under the age of 21. Helmets may not be required for those with health insurance coverage who have taken a safety course.
  • Mopeds are required to use a headlight in the dark.
  • Motorized scooters must have working brakes.
  • Mopeds must travel as far to the right side of the road as safely possible when traveling slower than surrounding traffic.
  • It is illegal to attach someone on a sled, skates, or other toy vehicle onto a motorized scooter.

Have you been involved in a Texas motorized scooter accident? Speak with a Dallas auto accident attorney at Rasansky Law Firm today.

  1. Avatar

    If I have a moped under 50 cc do I have to have a license?

  2. Avatar

    I have a 33 cc scooter would I need a license to drive this to school?

  3. Avatar

    Not ACTUAL E-Scooters (m365, es2, etc). Tx pretty lenient. See San Antonio for example.

  4. Avatar

    I have a cr80 which I believe is not legally a motorcycle in Texas so is there any chance I’d be able to get it somewhat street legal as a “moped” or scooter? I would much rather take that to work than walk or ride a bike.

  5. Avatar

    Regarding the Honda Ruckus. It is only 49cc but not exempt under rule P36. It fails the 30 mph test. Let’s assume the vehicle is properly registered, inspected, and insured but the driver does not have a motorcycle license – would there be risk in the event of an accident for the insurance company to deny claims based on the driver not having a license?

  6. Avatar

    Can I use Google bicycle paths on a motorscooter.
    In Texas

  7. Avatar

    I have 50cc VIP furture champion scooter with a 80 kit in it do I still need a license to drove it in tx

Write a comment:

*

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Copyright © 2019 Rasansky Law Firm - Dallas Personal Injury Lawyers. All Rights Reserved.