(214) 651-6100
1-877-405-4313 (toll-free) Dallas Personal Injury Lawyers
Send us an email! Call us!
by Jeff Rasansky - December 17, 2013
Jeff Rasansky
Jeff Rasansky, managing partner of Rasansky Law Firm, is an aggressive Dallas personal injury lawyer with more than 25 years of legal experience.


In Texas, motorcycle riders must always wear a helmet if they are under the age of 21. If “the person required to wear protective headgear was at least 21 years old and had successfully completed a motorcycle operator training and safety course… OR was covered by a health insurance plan providing the person with medical benefits for injuries incurred as a result of an accident while operating or riding on a motorcycle,” a helmet is not required by law.

Failure to wear a motorcycle helmet is a secondary offense in Texas; that is, a police officer cannot pull over a motorcycle rider only to see if he or she has medical insurance, has taken a motorcycle training and safety course, and/or is of a certain age.

While motorcycle helmets are not required for many riders in Texas, helmets have been proven to minimize injuries and prevent deaths caused by relatively-minor motorcycle accidents. Over the years, we’ve handled a countless motorcycle accident cases where the victim could have avoided brain damage (or death) simply by wearing a helmet. Because of this, we strongly encourage ALL riders to wear protective gear when riding.

Even if you’re the most-skilled rider out there, you can’t control or predict what other drivers may do.

  1. November 9, 2016

    If you are old enough and have had a valid motorcycle license for 45 years, do you have to have a motorcycle safety course certificate to ride without a helmet/

    • November 10, 2016

      Hi Carroll,
      According to the Texas Transportation Code (http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/TN/htm/TN.661.htm), “A peace officer may not arrest a person or issue a citation to a person for a violation of Subsection (a) or (b) [helmet requirement] if the person required to wear protective headgear is at least 21 years of age and presents evidence sufficient to show that the person required to wear protective headgear has successfully completed a motorcycle operator training and safety course OR is covered by a health insurance plan as described by this subsection.” So to answer your question, as long as you have adequate insurance, you should be okay.

Write a comment:


Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Copyright © 2018 Rasansky Law Firm - Dallas Personal Injury Lawyers. All Rights Reserved.