Drunk driving is a leading cause of fatal car accidents in Texas, with one in three fatal vehicle crashes involving alcohol and driving under the influence. In most cases, drivers are breaking the law by getting behind the wheel after drinking. Do you know about Texas drunk driving laws and Texas DUI laws?
In Texas, the legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit is 0.08. Drivers who are under the age of 21 and not legally allowed to drink face Zero Tolerance laws that make it illegal to drive with any detectable amount of alcohol in their system. Any driver with a blood alcohol level about 0.15 could face more serious consequences and penalties.
A first DUI offense in Texas is considered a Class B Misdemeanor. Those charged with a first offense DUI can expect to spend three to six days in jail, pay fines up to $2,000 and lose their drivers’ license for up to one year. The offender may be required to take a DWI education class and perform up to 100 hours of community service.
A second DWI offense is considered a Class A misdemeanor. Offenders may receive up to one year in jail and fines up to $4,000. Your license may be revoked for up to two years and offenders must attend at least 32 hours of DWI driver’s education courses. The punishment for drunk driving a second time could also include probation and up to 200 hours of community service.
A third DWI offense in Texas is considered a third degree felony, and offenders could spend up to ten years in jail in addition to the punishments listed above. It is also a felony to drive drunk with a minor in the car under 15 years of age. Driving with an open container in the vehicle is a Class C misdemeanor.